Monthly Archives: June 2012

British writer Jon McGregor wins $131K Impac Dublin Award

A repost from: CBC News  Jun 13, 2012 3:40 PM ET Last Updated: Jun 13, 2012 3:39 PM ET

British writer Jon McGregor won the €100,000 ($131,000 Cdn) 2012 International Impac Dublin Literary Award on Wednesday for his novel Even the Dogs.

Nominations for the award, the richest literary award in the world for a single book, came from public libraries around the world and a jury selects the shortlist and winner. McGregor’s book was nominated by a public library in Moscow.

Even the Dogs, McGregor’s third novel, is described as an experiment that details the lives of a gathering of homeless addicts as they go about their daily forage for shelter, drink or a fix.

It focuses on one alcoholic, who dies between Christmas and New Year’s, and the people who knew him.

The jury, which included British novelist Tim Parks and the Trinidadian writer Elizabeth Nunez, called the book “noble in its clear-eyed truth telling.”

“With no hectoring or table thumping, the author gets us to stand and listen. When we close the book we marvel that McGregor, in less than 200 pages, has managed to sketch such a complete and complex picture of a world which is so near to hand but so seldom lingered over,” the jury said in its citation.

McGregor, who was born in Bermuda and raised in Britain, was on the long list for the Man Booker Prize in 2002 for his debut novel If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things.

He said winning the Impac Dublin Award was “a real honour to have been selected from such a huge list of fantastic works from around the world.”

Bergen’s The Matter with Morris earned him a Giller Prize nomination in 2010. He was the only Canadian nominee.

Other finalists including Pulitzer Prize winner A Visit from the Goon Squad by American Jennifer Egan and Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes.

Categories: Awards, English | Leave a comment

Sci-fi author Ray Bradbury dies at 91

This article is a condensed version of the full length news found at CBC News Posted: Jun 6, 2012 11:01 AM ET Last Updated: Jun 6, 2012 10:13 PM ET

Ray Bradbury, the American writer famous for science fiction novels such as Fahrenheit 451, has died at age 91.

He wrote a wide range of fantasy, horror and sci-fi novels and short stories including Cold War morality tale, The Martian Chronicles.

He also wrote the screenplay for the 1956 film version of Moby Dick and created TV scripts for The Twilight Zone.

“What I have always been is a hybrid author,” Bradbury said in 2009. “I am completely in love with movies, and I am completely in love with theatre, and I am completely in love with libraries.”

Bradbury rejected the term science fiction, prefering fantasy to describe his work. “My stories are strongly moral in a way and exemplary; I’m not interested in predicting futures,” he said in a 1969 interview with CBC.

In recent years a stroke had put him in wheelchair, but Bradbury continued to write new novels, screenplays and poetry and appeared at literary events in the Los Angeles area.

Born Aug. 22, 1920, in Waukegan, Ill., and raised in Arizona and Los Angeles, he was influenced as a young reader by Edgar Allan Poe, Edgar Rice Burroughs and H.G. Wells.

Loved the library

His family was too poor to send him to college, but Bradbury spent his time in libraries and fed his fertile imagination with movies.

He was rejected from military service during the Second World War because of his poor eyesight and began to write science fiction stories for pulp fiction magazines in 1938. His first collection of short stories, Dark Carnival, was published in 1947.

The book that made him a household name was The Martian Chronicles, a series of stories about an idyllic Martian civilization that is brutalized by colonizers from Earth. Like many of his books, it was a critique of politics on Earth, in this case the Cold War.

In 1953, he wrote Fahrenheit 451, giving an apocalyptic picture of a world where nuclear war has led to a crackdown on dissenting ideas. Firefighters are assigned to burn books and most people are contented with electronic devices that provide unchallenging entertainment.

Bradbury’s book was inspired by his love for libraries and was meant as a critique of television, but also foreshadowed the world of iPods, interactive websites and electronic surveillance that is here today.

Hatred for book-burning

“It was a book based on real facts and also on my hatred for people who burn books,” he told The Associated Press in 2002.

It became a futuristic classic and was part of many college and high school reading lists. François Truffaut directed a 1966 movie version and the book’s title was appropriated — without Bradbury’s permission — for Michael Moore’s documentary Fahrenheit 9/11.

Bradbury published more than 500 novels, short stories, screenplays and TV scripts, including The Illustrated Man and Something Wicked This Way Comes. He is known for his inventive plotting — a boy defeating a vampire by stuffing him with silver coins; a dinosaur mistaking a fog horn for a mating call; Ernest Hemingway comes back to life on a time machine.

Short stories such as A Sound of Thunder (The Butterfly Effect), The Small Assassin and The Halloween Tree are among his many works to have been adapted to the screen. Dozens of stories were adapted for 1980s series The Ray Bradbury Theater.

Bradbury’s critics found his description unconvincing, his depiction of women old-fashioned and his rendering of worlds with problems too close to those here on Earth repetitive. But he was rare as a genre writer who was treated seriously in the literary world.

 Special Pulitzer

In 2007, he received a special Pulitzer Prize citation “for his distinguished, prolific and deeply influential career as an unmatched author of science fiction and fantasy.” In 2000 he was awarded an honorary National Book Award medal for lifetime achievement.

“Everything I’ve done is a surprise, a wonderful surprise,” Bradbury said during his acceptance speech in 2000. “I sometimes get up at night when I can’t sleep and walk down into my library and open one of my books and read a paragraph and say, ‘My God, did I write that? Did I write that?’, because it’s still a surprise.”

Despite keeping his eyes on the future, Bradbury was not an early adopter of technology. He didn’t drive or fly and he refused to have a computer.

“I’m not afraid of machines,” he told Writer’s Digest in 1976. “I don’t think the robots are taking over. I think the men who play with toys have taken over. And if we don’t take the toys out of their hands, we’re fools.”

Bradbury is survived by his four daughters. Marguerite Bradbury, his wife of 56 years, died in 2003.

Categories: Awards, Best sellers, English | Leave a comment

Philip Roth honoured with Asturias lit prize

The Associated Press Posted: Jun 6, 2012 9:37 AM ET Last Updated: Jun 6, 2012 9:39 AM ET

U.S. author Philip Roth has been named winner of Spain’s 2012 Prince of Asturias prize for literature in recognition of his formidable contribution to American literature.

Prize organizers said Wednesday Roth’s narrative work forms “part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, Scott Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Faulkner, Bellow and Malamud.”

Wednesday’s award is one of eight handed out yearly by a foundation named for Spain’s Crown Prince Felipe. Others categories include arts, sports and scientific research.

The 79-year-old Roth, from Newark New Jersey, is one of America’s most renowned authors. Among his most popular books are, Portnoy’s Complaint, American Pastoral and The Human Stain.

Categories: Awards, English, Español | Leave a comment

The Nielsen BookScan for week 22 of 2012

The publishing world, authors, libraries, bookstores, etc all keep a watchful eye on the week’s bestsellers and books that are trending.

From the 11 June 2012 edition of Publishers Weekly, here is the Nielsen BookScan for week 22 of 2012 with data through 06/03/2012.  The top 30 books are listed.

Books that are available through the EBC Library are noted* with their position in the top 100.  Some books have been issued in several formats (hardcover, mass market paperback, large print, etc) which may cause these titles to be listed twice.


1. *Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy by E L James

2. Fifty Shades Darker by E L James

3. Fifty Shades Freed by E L James

4. *Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

5.*Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

6. *Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

7. Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr Seuss

8. Storm by Clive Cussler

9. Explosive Eighteen: A Stephanie Plum Novel by Janet Evanovich

10. Big Sky Country by Linda Lael Miller

11. Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

12. Unexpected Husband: Jury of His Peers\Any Sunday by Debbie Macomber

13. Last Boyfriend by Nora Roberts

14. 11th Hour by James Patterson

15. It Worked for Me: In Life and Leadership by Colin Powell

16. Kill Alex Cross by James Patterson

17. Amateur: Barack Obama in the White House by Edward Klein

18. Kingdom by Clive Cussler

19. Night Like This by Julia Quinn

20. Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence (Special and Revised) by Sarah Young

21. Middle School: Get Me Out of Here! by James Patterson

22. Stolen Prey by John Sandford

23. Summer Days by Susan Mallery

24. Skinny Rules: The Simple, Nonnegotiable Principles for Getting to Thin by Bob Harper / Author, Greg Critser

25. Tick Tock by James Patterson / Michael Ledwidge

26. American Grown: The Story of the White House Kitchen Garden and Gardens Across America by Michelle Obama

27. Calico Joe by John Grisham

28. In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson

29. Bed of Roses by Nora Roberts

30. One Direction: Dare to Dream: Life as One Direction by One Direction


40. *The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

42. *Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

52. *Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

54. *A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

55. *A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

66. *Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

69. *Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

72. *Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

74. *Song of Ice & Fire 4v: A Game of Thrones, a Clash of Kings, a Storm of Swords, and a Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin

77. *Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

81. *Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin

90. *Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

95. *A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 5 by George R. R. Martin

97. *The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

100. *A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

Categories: Best sellers, English

SUMMER READING for the kids

“Research is finally documenting what librarians and teachers have long known: many students lose learning and literacy skills during their summer break… How to offset “summer reading loss” and help close the achievement gap? … strong, inclusive summer reading programs that will sustain kids’ reading proficiency while allowing the space for students to sample genres, titles, and authors and discover, outside of the [school] classroom, what they love to read”.

The EBC library offers a limited selection of children’s books in French, Spanish, English, and Italian.  When the school libraries close for the summer, check out the EBC Library for a good book.

Categories: Children's Books, English | Leave a comment

One for the road?

One for the road?

For the long trips in the car, why not pass the time with an audiobook?

Categories: English | Leave a comment

Game of Thrones

If you are a fan of the Game of Thrones, now airing on TV, the EBC Library has the series. Want to know what is going to happen when winter comes? Check it out…..Image

Categories: English, TV/Movie Tie-ins

Blog at